Monday, October 15, 2012

How to Tame a Willful Wife by Christie English (Terra's Review)

 
Description of How To Tame A Willful Wife:
1. Forbid her from riding astride
2. Hide her dueling sword
3. Burn all her breeches and buy her silk drawers
4. Frisk her for hidden daggers
5. Don't get distracted while frisking her for hidden daggers...

Anthony Carrington, Earl of Ravensbrook, expects a biddable bride. A man of fiery passion tempted by the rigors of war into steely self-control, he demands obedience from his troops and his future wife. Regardless of how fetching she looks in breeches.

Promised to the Earl of Plump Pockets by her impoverished father, Caroline Montague is no simpering miss. She rides a war stallion named Hercules, fights with a blade, and can best most men with both bow and rifle. She finds Anthony autocratic, domineering, and...ridiculously handsome.

It's a duel of wit and wills in this charming retelling of The Taming of the Shrew. But the question is...who's taming whom?
 
(Terra's Thoughts) This was such a treat.  A romance that is closer to what would have possibly have been the scenario of what was expected of one during these early times in our history.  Lots of sensual steam, tempers flying and the Battle of Wills that will make the War of the Roses look tame in comparison.
 
Caroline Montague is the ultimate in beauty.  She is also very independent and willful due to her father's doting on her and not cracking the whip when it was much needed.  Even still Caroline is quite the beautiful prize for the right man but can said man put up with her tongue, temperament and disobedience.
 
Anthony Carrington is the best looking gentleman that one could most certainly ever hope to see let alone snag a relationship with.  He has rigid standards that must be met and he will brook no argument against his wishes.  A member of Parliament and a much respected and favored man of the realm, Anthony has set his sights on a bride but can he protect her as he should?  Can he possibly put up with a stubborn, pig-headed, sharp tongued women and conform her to who he wants her to be?  Time will tell!
 
I love this storyline.  It's got the best of the battle of wills that will keep you sitting on the edge of your seat in anticipation, passions that will scorch you and dangers that will have you biting your nails.  An intense romance that will most certainly not disappoint!
 
This is a quick read only because our author has done such a remarkable job in keeping up to the pace she sets in the beginning.  What more can you possibly want than a fast paced, intense story line with tons of lust and dangers to rock your boat.
 
  • Mass Market Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (November 6, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402270453
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402270451
  • Wolfishly Yours by Lydia Dare (Terra's Review)


    Regency England Has Gone To The Wolves!

    It Takes A Beast...

    Grayson Hadley is in his own special hell-being treated like a wayward pup by the tutor employed to turn him into a true gentleman. So when he meets a hot-blooded American beauty with the mark of a Lycan, he's only too glad to slip his leash.

    To Bring This Lady To Heel

    Accustomed to running wild in the swamps of Louisiana, Miss Liviana Mayeux is shipped off to her grandfather's in London to learn a thing or two about polite society. At first she scoffs at the English Lycans' apparent tameness. Little does Livi realize how very close she is to unleashing the passion that lies just beneath the surface...

    (Terra's Thoughts)  Another great passionate paranormal storyline that will leave you feeling well satisfied.  The writing team of Lydia Dare is not only great at what they do but they are also consistent with giving us what we look and drool for in a good romance.  I for one have not been disappointed yet.

    Miss Liviana Mayeux is quite the little minx.  Raised in Louisiana without a mother to teach her all about the proper aspects of being a lady, Livi is shipped off to England in hopes that her maternal grandfather that she's never met can accomplish the impossibility of teaching her the cultured life of the ton.  It doesn't take our heroine long before she courts trouble with a runaway tongue and willful mind of her own.

    Grayson Hadley of the trouble Hadley brothers that we have met in a previous book is such a sweet little pup when he wants to be.  Unfortunately for him, Gray seems to attract trouble like flies to honey.  Being tutored to be a gentleman and a reformed one at that is not as easy as one would think and gracious not so easy when you throw in a luscious female of Lycan breeding that will make Gray wish he were any place but where she is.

    Our storyline is evenly paced and full  of chuckles.  Passions flow like the high tide leaving us breathless with anticipation for what will happen next.  Fate is a fickle thing and even the most daring of us should give Lady Fate much respect and a wide berth.

    We have a comical cast here with Livi being wild and care free, Lady Sophia who is ram rod stiff in culture, Grayson Hadley who is just far to gullible, Archer Hadley who is a thick headed scoundrel, Livi's grandfather who is the epitome of a crotchety old man and of course Gray and Archer's mother who is bound and determined to make sure Livi is the belle of the ball and spoken for before the end of her first season in London.  The rest of the Hadley family comes in later in the book to add the extra zest that we all know of and expect with relish.

    A quick, light romance that is sure to twist your panties in a wad and make you giggle like a school girl while cringing at the sure to come consequences of foolish behavior.

  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (November 6, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 140226349X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402263491
  • Monday, September 17, 2012

    Miss Lavigne's Little White Lie by Samantha Grace (Terra's Review)

    A Scoundrel Drives a Hard Bargain...

    Spirited and determined to protect her young brother at any cost, Lisette Lavigne is desperate to flee New Orleans. There's only one ship sailing to England, though, and the rakish Captain Daniel Hillary will only allow Lisette's family aboard for a very steep price...

    But a Lady Always Gets the Upper Hand...

    Daniel prides himself on running a tight ship, and he knows a lady will be nothing but trouble on a long voyage. Yet he can't help but break his own ironclad rules when Lisette persuades him that being gentlemanly just this once is his wisest course of action...

    (Terra's Thoughts)  This is yet another wonderful addition to Samatha Grace's series.  I love the setting and the villain's for they are truly evil to the core.  Having a knight in shinning armour come along to rescues his damsel in distress proves to be quite a chore in this story.

    Lisette Lavigne is a very rare beauty indeed.  An heiress that is much sought after especially by scoundrels is one of the hardships of ones beauty.  Lisette is very family orientated and this is the one area where she gives no quarter.  Does she have what it takes to go to the extremes that will be needed to achieve her goal?

    Captain Daniel Hillary is quite handsome and more than a bit of a rogue as we have learned from previous books.  Something we didn't know though was of his marriage and the torment it has been bringing him each and every day since an unfortunate accident.  Can his wounded heart and battered self existence finally find light at the end of the tunnel?

    Most of this story takes place on the high seas between the continent and London.  A brief stop in the Caribbean helps in some ways and is more destructive in others.  Lots of tenderness, passion, distrust, hurtful words and evil followers make this an adventure one's surly not going to forget anytime soon.  There is a bit of everything thrown in on this one to make even the most persnickety happy.

    I loved the story with it's smooth flowing style, dastardly evil counterpoints mashing against all the good that's flowing around and the hot steamy scenes that take place behind closed doors and in the open air of the gardens.  This couple most certainly takes us up a level on the rebellion of the stately rules of the ton and what is proper.

  • Mass Market Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (October 2, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402258372
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402258374


  • Thursday, September 13, 2012

    Lady Louisa's Christmas Knight by Grace Burrowes (Terra's Review)

    'Tis the Season for Scandal...

    Years ago Lady Louisa Windham acted rashly on a dare from her brother, and that indiscretion is about to come to light. She knows her reputation will never survive exposure. Just as she's nearly overwhelmed by her dilemma, Sir Joseph Carrington offers himself to her as a solution...

    But Sir Joseph has secrets as well, and as he and Louisa become entangled with each other, their deceptions begin to close in on them both...

    (Terra's Thoughts)  Oh what an early Christmas gift this is, thank you Grace Burrowes!  I absolutely love this family and their stories that our much talented author has given us.  This gem is sure to put you in the Yule spirit with a luscious romance that is rich in everything we could possibly ask from Santa.

    Lady Louisa Windham is a true gem in every sense of the word.  Lithe, graceful, seductively beautiful and with an appetite for the art of love, family, duty and experiences that only a man who truly loves her can render.  A bit of the naughty has been in her from early on and this may just come up to bite her in the behind but we will see as the story proceeds beautifully.

    Sir Joseph is a handsome man in his own right.  Widowed and left with two daughters he must find a bride to help his children in all the areas that only a female can possibly teach them.  An injury from the war makes poor Sir Joseph not all that appealing to most of the creme of the crop of the ton available but will one special beauty capture his interest and his heart?

    This story has some really cute moments especially when His Grace and Her Grace get that glimmer in their eye when it's time to play match making shenanigans.  They are just so sweet.  Their character's give you a glimpse of what has been passed down to each of their children, no wonder they all have minds of their own.  LOL!  I think having their Graces in each story doing just a bit of something adds so much to it.

    Along with their Graces you know that all the siblings have to have a hand in whatever transpires which makes it all that much more delicious.  I so wish I had a family like this.  Guess Great Minds do think alike.

    As you ascertained the story is set during the Yule season and oh what a season this will be.  Much mistletoe doesn't help our hero but it doesn't hurt either.  The setting is ripe with smells and descriptions that make you feel like you are part of the family and not an outsider looking in.  I just can't impress enough upon you how much this book brought joy to my reading eyes and longing mind.

    Thank goodness our author has another story coming out before the Season of Spirits.  I don't know what I will do when we run out of family members to read about from a much gifted Grace Burrowes.

  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (October 2, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402268637
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402268632


  • Wednesday, September 12, 2012

    The Trouble with Highlander's by Mary Wine (Terra's Review)

    She Has Hardly Any Choices Left...

    With her clan on the wrong side of the struggle for the Scottish throne, heiress Daphne Macleod, once the toad of the court, is out of options...

    And They're All Dangerous...

    Norris Sutherland once helped Daphne, but she walked away from him without a backward glance. Now she's in deep trouble and needs him more than ever. But he may be lost forever...unless she can somehow convince him to forgive her.

    (Terra's Thoughts)  Oh my this was a delicious story.  This was more of a story of sexual conquest and high passions bursting forth than it was of an action packed adventure.  Mary Wine sure knows how to push the buttons of her characters that's for sure.

    Daphne MacLeod is her father's only legitimate heir but that doesn't stop her half brother from coming along to claim his rights as Laird of the MacLeod Clan.  Daphne is beautiful, willful, smart as a whip but honest to a fault.  Actually is honesty all that bad when you are in a position that requires just that?

    Norris Sutherland is one Hell of a Highlander.  Future Laird to the Sutherland Clan he has only one purpose in life set before him until a blond haired beauty shows up begging for a favor that no sane man would refuse.  He is tall, lean, fair and kind to his people.  A muscle bound package with intense passions that are sure to make a fair maiden howl with pleasure at Norris' tender ministrations.

    The story is of a stubborn lass getting out of a bad predicament without having to have caused blood shed while leaving her imprint on a mighty Highlander, driving him mad with emotions he's never dealt with before. 

    A story of honesty and betrayal from two different women that want the same man and the lengths they will go to in order to snag their prize.  Trouble abounds in a cat fight that will make any of the Scottish wars look like child's play.

    I could not put this book down and devoured it in less than twenty four hours.  I think that is an all time record for me.  Our author has made it quite easy to get snaggled up into this story making it easy to use all our sensory feeler's.  I cannot wait for what may be next from Mary Wine.

  • Mass Market Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (October 2, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402264747
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402264740

  • Tuesday, September 04, 2012

    A Place Beyond Courage by Elizabeth Chadwick (Terra's Review)

    The early twelfth century is a time for ambitious men to prosper. John FitzGilbert is a man of honor and loyalty, sworn to royal service. When the old king dies, his successor rewards the handsome and ambitious John with castles and lands. But King Stephen has a tenuous hold on both his reign and his barons, and when jealous rivals at court seek to destroy John, he backs a woman's claim to the crown, sacrifices his marriage, and eventually is forced to make a gamble that is perhaps one step too far.

    (Terra's Thoughts)  I really don't need to tell any of you that have read a book by Elizabeth Chadwick on how good her stories are.  This installment brings us full circle on the story of the Greatest Knight and The Scarlet Lion and oh what a story this is.  Now I can actually understand the why's and how's of the first two books with much more clarity.

    John FitzGilbert is everything a true knight of the realm should be.  His honor, courage, creativity, loyalty and leadership are without question perfection.  His looks make him a handsome man and he knows it and is tested mightily in this category part way through this story.  His patience is that of a Saint and his position is precarious with each swing of the reigning monarch.  If you were to compare him to a thoroughbred stallion, John would be of the creme of the crop.

    I love meaty well balanced tales and this is just such a story.  Times start out peaceful but we all know that will not last for long as there is always someone biting at the bit to become the high and mighty.  Kings come and Kings go, times and places will change in a moments notice, loyalties need change but hopefully you pick the right road to follow but no matter what, each side will still be precarious at best.  History is just that, a moment in time for us to study and hopefully not repeat what has gone on before us.

    John goes though two marriages and countless battles trying his best to keep his family in the forefront of his mind in regards to the future.  Five children between his two wives makes him a lucky man but when the push comes to shove and he must make a choice, will he be able to do it and stand and watch the outcome of what could possibly come to pass.  I guess men of this time period had to have the courage to pray and hope not matter what.

    A Place Beyond Courage is a book to be highly regarded as one of the greats.  At least in my library it is.  Our author is nothing short of truly gifted in her art of writing which makes this and everything else she has written to be cherished and passed down throughout the ages as a work of Literary Historical Fiction perfection.

  • Paperback: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark (September 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402271085
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402271083
  • Charming Blue by Kristine Grayson (Terra's Review)

    He lived through ages with the curse of attracting women...who end up dead...

    One upon a time, he was the most handsome of princes, destined for great things. But now he's a lonely legend, hobbled by a dark history. With too many dead in his wake, Bluebeard escapes the only way he knows how—through the evil spell of alcohol. But it's a far different kind of spell that's been ruining his life for centuries.

    How will she survive this killer Prince Charming?

    Jodi Walters is a fixer, someone who can put magic back in order. She's the best in Hollywood at her game. But Blue has a problem she's never encountered before—and worse, she finds herself perilously attractied to him.

    (Terra's Thoughts)  Once upon a time......., this is one fairytale that is okay but a bit stuffy fluff.  Our hero is a bit too scared witless and our heroine is okay but try as she might she can't carry the story on her own.  If you really like fluffy that this is got much more than you can hope for.  Me, I like to have a bit of macho in my men even the timid ones.

    The story is of Bluebeard and his legendary evil in the murdering of wives and mistresses and keeping their heads.  Well that was in the past at least but now there is a copy cat out there and it is up to Tank, Tinkerbell's sister, and Jodi to try and find out who this copy cat is and try and clear Bluebeard from his notorious past due to a deadly spell.

    I truly think if the hero had a bit more backbone the story might have been able to be pulled off without a hitch.  It's just not my cup of tea to see a man as charming as Bluebeard is and as beautiful as he is be such a wuss!  Our heroine is doing her part even handling Tank the cantankerous fairy without having to carry off most of the story line.  This really just wasn't for me as I'm not a lover of something this far out.

  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (September 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402263740
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402263743
  • Thursday, August 23, 2012

    Kiss of Steel by Bec McMaster (Terra's Review)

    When Nowhere is Safe

    Most people avoid the dreaded Whitecapel district. For Honoria Todd, it's the last safe haven. But at what price?

    Blade is known as the master of the rookeries—no one dares cross him. It's been said he faced down the Echelon's army single–handedly, that ever since being infected by the blood–craving he's been quicker, stronger, and almost immortal.

    When Honoria shows up at his door, his tenuous control comes close to snapping. She's so...innocent. He doesn't see her backbone of steel—or that she could be the very salvation he's been seeking.

    (Terra's Thoughts)  Oh my I am sooooooo in love with this book.  An intriguing throw together of vampires and weres with blue bloods who haven't quite made it to the full change yet and a miss mash of the lower than low humans, some down on their luck and some just down right nasty.  Throw in people with some human parts, some mechanical parts and you are bound to gasp with surprise at the intensity of the lives they lead.

    The story is set in the nastiest part of London where anything and everything can and will happen.  Despair cuddles with fear but if you're lucky enough and find the right protector you just might be able to stave off some of that fear for a price.  But at what price would you be willing to pay?

    This is a hefty beefy story that has a lot of pre ground work introducing you to the how's and whys in order to give you the proper back story to bring you to the now and up and coming.  Action packed with love scenes that will rock your boat all in a bit of the tick tock Wizard of Oz style of Steam punk.  Oh what a ride this has been and I just can't wait to see what the next book will bring us.  I feel as though this is my dysfunctional family and it's killing me to hear from them again.

  • Mass Market Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (September 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402270275
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402270277
  • A Lady and Her Magic by Tammy Falkner (Terra's Review)

    Rules Are Made to be Disobeyed...
    Sophia Thorne is new to the Regency's glittering high society, which resembles her magical homeland only insofar as both places are filled with ridiculous rules. Which means no matter where she goes, she's bound for trouble...

    And Scandals Are Meant to be Shocking...
    The Duke of Robinsworth has flaunted and shocked society for years. In a moment of fateful mischief, Robinsworth encounters the enchanting and distinctly scandalous Sophia. Between her streak of magical mischief and his penchant for scandal, they're about to take rule-breaking to a whole new level...

    (Terra's Thoughts)  This is an exceptionally wonderful fairy tale with spit and vinegar and loads of steamy scenes that will surly curl your toes.  Our author is a wonderful part of the known writing team of Lydia Dare and I have to say that I am really liking what Tammy Falkner has given up in this installment of her own.

    Sophia Thorne is a rare beauty, enchanting, delightful and very, very outspoken.  She's been schooled in the ways of the ton but is not looking forward to applying her lessons to real life with all the stringent ridiculous rules that must be adhered to or suffer the outcome of wagging tongues and scandal.  Her mission is plain and simple or so she thinks.

    The Duke of Robinsworth is a man of scorn from the ton for the allegeded death of his wife some years past but did he do it?  A man handsome as the day is long is quite reluctant to deal with gossiping rags and miserable old bitties that wag their tongues more than a pendulum on a clock.  Is there a heart in this man of stone and ice and what will he do to keep that which is his?

    The story is ripe with magic, hot with steamy scenes and paced beautifully with it's smooth writing style.  Everything meshes easily and you zip through the story without batting your eyes.  I truly found this a breath of fresh air and I do so hope that Miss Falkner will give us much much more in the coming future.

  • Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (September 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402268122
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402268120
  • Temptation in a Kilt by Victoria Roberts (Terra's Review)

    She's On Her Way to Safety

    It's a sign of Lady Rosalia Armstrong's desperation that she's seeking refuge in a place as rugged and challenging as the Scottish Highlands. She doesn't care about hardship and discomfort, if only she can become master of her own life. Laird Ciaran MacGregor, however, is completely beyond her control...

    He Redefines Dangerous...

    Ciaran MacGregor knows it's perilous to get embroiled with a fiery Lowland lass, especially one as headstrong as Rosalia. Having made a rash promise to escort her all the way to Glengarry, now he's stuck with her, even though she challenges his legendary prowess at every opportunity. When temptation reaches its peak, he'll be ready to show her how he really is...on and off the battlefield.

    (Terra's Thoughts)  A captivating Scottish romance that will keep you ensconced from the first paragraph to the last.  I enjoyed this as I do most of the Scottish romances in it's wildness of it's hero and the innocence of the heroine that is until they clash and tumble.

    Lady Rosalia Armstrong is part English, part Scottish but which part will win over.  She is lovely, strong minded, wilfull and doesn't trust anyone after all that she has been through.  Her parents want her to marry some old English Lord for the coin it will bring to them but Lady Rosalia has a difference of opinion on this account.

    Ciaran MacGregor is a handsome Laird and quite elligable for any lass with a brain in her head and eyes that can rove up and down his lucious body.  He is everything that a certain old English Lord is not and that makes his appeal so much more attractive to our adorable heroine. 

    The usual story unfolds where Laird saves lass that has run away but this one is a page turner for sure.  I zipped right through the book for lack of wanting to put it down.  Given a lass in distress with the hounds of hell on her heels and a muscle bound length of maleness  dressed in a kilt and you got youself some challenging steamy scenes.  I myself wouldn't mind a little tickle and tumble with this Highland Chieftan.

  • Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (September 4, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402270062
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402270062